Get 10% off your first order! | 14 days right of return

Collections

Alexandrite

Alexandrite

Named after the later Tsar Alexander II, the alexandrite belongs to a variety of the chrysoberyl. It appears green in daylight and shimmers red in artificial light. A special rarity is the alexandrite cat’s eye, which mesmerises by creating a light effect of a cat’s eye.
The alexandrite was first found in the Urals in 1830, but today other deposits can be found in Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Brazil.

Amethyst

Amethyst

The amethyst is one of the most famous gemstones in the quartz group. Due to its violet to red-violet colour, the amethyst is the most widely used quartz variety for jewellery. The stone gets its violet colour from the colouring matter iron.

The most important deposits are located in Brazil, Madagascar and Zambia. In addition, there are amethyst deposits on almost every continent. Even in Idar-Oberstein, the amethyst was prominently represented at the beginning of the gemstone trade.

Aquamarine

Aquamarine

The aquamarine belongs to the beryl family. Aquamarine is available in a wide variety of shades of blue, from delicate light blue to deep dark seawater blue. This is where its name comes from, aqua marina, which means “seawater colour” in Latin. The most expensive aquamarine colour is the deep blue and is also commercially known as the “Santa Maria colour”. The origin of this name comes from the mine of the same name in Brazil, which initially produced particularly dark aquamarines.

Beryl

Beryl

The term noble beryl includes all colour varieties of beryl, with the exception of the varieties of aquamarine and emerald. The colour spectrum of the beryl covers almost all pastel shades, with stones with an intense colour saturation fetching higher prices. The best-known precious beryls are gold beryl and morganite. Beryl is found in Africa, Sri Lanka and the USA.

Chrysoberyl

Chrysoberyl

Despite its name, the chrysoberyl does not belong to the beryl group. It is characterised by its high hardness of 8.5 and catches the eye with its shiny brilliance. The partly neon yellow variant of chrysoberyl is little known, but is fascinating in itself. Alexandrite, on the other hand, is very well known and expensive – a chrysoberyl with colour-changing properties. Alexandrite shines green in natural light and red in artificial light.

Citrine

Citrine

The name of the citrine is derived from Latin and means lemon, which refers to the colour spectrum of the citrine, which ranges from lemon yellow to orange gold. Like the amethyst, the citrine belongs to the group of crystals. Madeira citrine is one of the most valuable citrines thanks to its dark orange colour. The stone is found, for example, in Africa, South America and Namibia.

Gemstones

Gemstones

Gemstones take millions of years to form in nature. They are created without artificial interference and are particularly valuable due to their rarity and beauty.

Each gem is inherently unique due to its colour and degree of purity. But only the right cut gives it individuality. This means that our gemstones have everything you need to really show off your jewellery.

Vier Edelsteine der Gruppe Granat in dunkel rot

Garnet

The garnet is characterised by its versatile colouring and high refraction. It comes in all colours except blue. Well-known representatives of the garnet group are the tsavorite or demantoid. In trade, the term “garnet” is mostly used for the dark red variety. Garnets are found, for example, in Africa or in parts of Asia.

Grossular

Grossular

The grossular belongs to the group of garnets and is characterised by its bright, fresh, mint green colour. The intense green and emerald green garnets also belong to the group of grossulars; however, they are called tsavorites because of their rarity and high price. Grossulars can be found in Tanzania, Kenya, South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Turmaline - green, cushion, 14x11 mm, 9,69 cts, Nr. TR10101

Highlights

On our highlights page you can find an exclusive selection of new and unique gemstones. Let this selection inspire you to create unique pieces of jewellery.

Iolite

Iolite

The iolite or – as the gemmologists call it – cordierite is found on all continents. The most important sites are, however, in South India and Sri Lanka. The iolite is easy to identify thanks to its two colours: if the stone appears in its typical blue-violet colour in one direction, it can appear more yellowish or greyish when tilted by 90°.

Mali-Granat

Mali-Garnet

The Mali garnet also belongs to the group of garnets and is a rather unknown coloured gemstone. As its name suggests, it comes from the Mali region. It has a yellow to yellow-green colour and a beautiful brilliance due to its high refraction.

Mandarin-Granat

Mandarin Garnet

The mandarin garnet or also spessartite garnet rounds up the group of garnets. The outdated name spessartite comes from the first known site of the garnet species in the Spessartite area in Germany. Nowadays, the name mandarin garnet is common because the bright orange colour is reminiscent of a mandarin.

The orange garnets are mostly found in Brazil, Namibia, Mozambique or Kenya.

Moonstone

Moonstone

The silvery-bluish shimmer of the moonstone is reminiscent of the light of the moon, hence the name. The characteristic shimmering effect of potash feldspar is also known as adularescence. The moonstone consists of a large number of lamellas that have grown together and create a special shimmer due to the light reflection. The stone belonging to the group of feldspars can be found in Sri Lanka, Brazil or also in India.

Morganite

Morganite

The morganite joins the beryl group and is mainly found in Brazil, Madagascar, Mozambique and Afghanistan. Due to its delicate pink, it is also known as pink beryl. The gemstone owes its name to the American gemstone enthusiast and banker J. P. Morgan.

Paraiba-Turmalin

Paraiba tourmaline

As its name suggests, the Paraiba tourmaline belongs to the group of tourmalines and is by far the rarest and most coveted variety of tourmaline. It was first found in Brazil in the northeaster state of Paraiba in 1989. Today, Paraiba tourmalines are mined in Mozambique and Nigeria, although these sites produce very little material that is worth cutting for. The mines in Brazil have long been depleted and no longer produce gemstones.

Paraiba tourmalines are popular because of their unusual, neon blue colour. This characteristic, intensely bright blue is also called swimming pool blue.

Peridot

Peridot

The name peridot comes from the Greek and means uncertain. The peculiarity of the peridot is its yellow-green colour. It is one of the few stones that only appear in green. The most important deposits are located in North America, Africa and Pakistan. There are few rare specimens from Norway.

Smooky Quarz

Smokey quarz

The smoky quartz belongs, as the name suggests, to the group of quartzes and is characterized by its grey colour. This colour can appear very dark up to a light grey tone. Often the smoky quartz is heated at low temperatures to make the colour lighter.

Rhodolite

Rhodolite

The rhodolite, also called rose garnet, owes its name to the violet-red to pink-red colour. “Rhodes” comes from the Greek and means rose. The rhodolite belongs to the group of garnets. Thanks to its violet-red colour, it was already a sought-after gemstone during the Roman Empire. The most important deposits are located in Asia and Africa.

Royal Purple Garnet

Royal purple garnet

The royal purple garnet is characterised by its intense violet tone, which ranges from intensely reddish to cool bluish purple tones. The high refraction of the garnet makes the violet colour sparkle strongly, which makes the stone particularly attractive. The royal purple garnet is a mixed crystal between the two garnet varieties pyrope and almandine. The gemstone has only been known in the trade for a few years. The stones are found in Mozambique and Tanzania.

Rubellit

Rubellite

Rubellite belongs to the group of tourmalines. The name rubellite is derived from the Latin “reddish”. Rubellite occurs in different shades of red, but the ruby colour is the most valuable. Most of the rubellite show strong inclusions, only very rarely are gemstones without inclusions found. Rubellite is mostly mined in Brazil, Nigeria and Mozambique.

Saphir

Saphir

The sapphire is one of the most famous gemstones in the world and belongs to the group of corundum. Above all, the sapphire is characterized by its enormous variety of colors. The most sought-after colours of the sapphire are, on the one hand, the "Royal Blue", a deep radiant blue and the padparadscha orange, a bright orange, which is supposed to remind us of the sunset of a summer night.

Smaragd

Emerald

The emerald is considered one of the oldest gemstones used by humans. Its history goes back to ancient Egypt. Many of the most valuable pieces of jewellery or unique treasures are made of emeralds. For example, the Vienna Treasury holds a small vessel made of a 2680 carat emerald – it is the largest cut emerald in the world.

Colombia is the most famous country of origin for emeralds due to its classic blue-green colour. But they also come from Brazil, Zambia, Ethiopia, Madagascar and other countries.

Spinel

Spinel

Due to its Mohs hardness of 8, the spinel is one of the hardest coloured gemstones and is therefore ideal for processing as a piece of jewellery. The spinel occurs in different colours, with the red and cobalt blue spinel being the most valuable varieties.

The most important deposits of the spinel are located in Myanmar, Tanzania, Vietnam and Tajikistan. It is interesting that prominent gemstones from the British crown jewels were mistakenly thought to be rubies for a long time – in reality they are spinels.

Tanzanite

Tanzanite

The tanzanite can only be found at one site worldwide – near Arusha in Tanzania. The blue-violet stone is a variety of the zoisite group and owes its name to the American jeweller Tiffany, who named the stone after its location. The marketing by Tiffany made the tanzanite known worldwide. Today, it is one of the most popular coloured gemstones.

Topaz

Topaz

The most valuable topazes have a pink to reddish-orange colour, with the colouring substances being primarily iron and chromium. The colour yellow is most common in topazes. Due to the high cleavage, the stones should be processed with care. The most important deposits are located in Brazil, Sri Lanka, Russia or Nigeria.

Tsavorite

Tsavorite

The tsavorite is a green variety from the garnet group. The stone owes its name to the Kenyan place of discovery – it was discovered in 1974 in Tsavo National Park in Kenya. The tsavorite impress with their intense green to emerald green colour. Today the main countries of origin are Kenya and Tanzania.

Tourmaline

Tourmaline

The variety of colours is typical of the group of tourmalines. The name is derived from the Sinhalese word Turmali, which means “stone with mixed colours”. Tourmalines come in all colours and cover the entire colour spectrum within one colour group. In addition, there are usually several colours in just one crystal. There are many names for the different colour variations, for example rubellite for the red variety or indigolite for blue tourmalines. Tourmalines are easy to process and are therefore particularly popular gemstones for production of jewellery.

Mit dem code gemhype10 erhalten Sie 10% auf die erste Bestellung | 14 Tage Rückgaberecht

Kategorien

Alexandrit

Alexandrit

Benannt nach dem späteren Zar Alexander II. zählt der Alexandrit zu einer Varietät der Chrysoberylle. Er erscheint bei Tageslicht grün, bei künstlichem Licht schimmert er rot. Eine besondere Rarität ist das Alexandrit-Katzenauge, welches durch den Lichteffekt eines Katzenauges fasziniert.
Der Alexandrit wurde erstmals 1830 im Ural gefunden, heutzutage gibt es allerdings weitere Fundstätten in Sri Lanka, Simbabwe und Brasilien.

Amethyst

Amethyst

Der Amethyst zählt zu den wohl bekanntesten Edelsteinen in der Gruppe der Quarze. Durch seine violette bis rotviolette Farbe ist der Amethyst die am meisten für Schmuck verwendete Quarzvarietät. Die violette Farbe erhält der Stein durch das farbgebende Element Eisen.

Die bedeutendsten Lagerstätten sind in Brasilien, Madagaskar und Sambia. Darüber hinaus gibt es auf fast allen Kontinenten Amethystvorkommen. Auch in Idar-Oberstein war der Amethyst schon zu Anfangszeiten des Edelsteinhandels prominent vertreten.

Aquamarin

Aquamarin

Der Aquamarin gehört zur Familie der Berylle. Es gibt den Aquamarin in den unterschiedlichsten Blautönen, von zartem Hellblau bis zu tiefdunklem Meerwasserblau. Daher kommt auch sein Name, aqua marina bedeutet auf Lateinisch meerwasserfarbig. Die teuerste Aquamarinfarbe ist tiefblau und wird im Handel auch als “Santa Maria colour” bezeichnet. Der Ursprung dieser Benennung kommt von der gleichnamigen Mine in Brasilien, welche zu Anfangszeiten besonders dunkle Aquamarine hervorbrachte.

Beryll

Beryll

Unter den Begriff Edelberyll fallen alle Farbvarietäten des Berylls, ausgenommen von der Varietät des Aquamarins und des Smaragdes. Das Farbspektrum der Berylle deckt fast alle Pastelltöne ab, wobei Steine mit einer intensiven Farbsättigung höhere Preise erzielen. Die bekanntesten Edelberylle sind der Goldberyll und der Morganit. Gefunden werden Berylle in Afrika, Sri Lanka und in den USA.

Chrysoberyll

Chrysoberyll

Der Chrysoberyll gehört, trotz des Namens, nicht zur Beryll-Gruppe. Er zeichnet sich durch seine hohe Härte von 8,5 aus und sticht durch seine leuchtende Brillanz ins Auge. Die teils neongelbe Variante des Chrysoberylls ist wenig bekannt, bietet aber eine Faszination für sich. Sehr bekannt und teuer ist hingegen der Alexandrit - ein Chrysoberyll mit farbwechselnden Eigenschaften. Bei natürlichem Licht ist der Alexandrit grün, bei Kunstlicht erstrahlt er rot.

Citrin

Citrin

Der Name des Citrins leitet sich aus dem Lateinischen ab und bedeutet Zitrone, was auf das von zitronengelb bis orangegold reichende Farbspektrum des Citrins verweist. Wie auch der Amethyst gehört der Citrin zu der Gruppe der Quarze. Der Madeira-Citrin ist durch seine dunkelorange Farbgebung einer der wertvollsten Citrine. Gefunden wird der Stein beispielsweise in Afrika, Südamerika und Namibia.

Edelsteine

Edelsteine

Edelsteine bilden sich in Millionen von Jahren in der Natur. Sie entstehen ohne künstliche Beeinflussung und sind aufgrund ihrer Seltenheit und Schönheit besonders wertvoll.

Jeder Edelstein ist durch seine Farbe und den Reinheitsgrad von Natur aus einzigartig. Erst der passende Schliff verhilft ihm jedoch zu Individualität. Damit haben unsere Edelsteine alles, was sie brauchen, um in Ihrem Schmuckstück voll zur Geltung zu kommen.

Vier Edelsteine der Gruppe Granat in dunkel rot

Granat

Der Granat zeichnet sich durch seine vielseitige Farbgebung und seine hohe Lichtbrechung aus. Er kommt in allen Farben vor, außer blau. Bekannte Vertreter der Granatgruppe sind Tsavorite oder Demantoide. Im Handel wird die Bezeichnung "Granat" meist für die dunkelrote Varietät verwendet. Gefunden werden Granate beispielsweise in Afrika oder in Teilen von Asien.

Grossular

Grossular

Der Grossular zählt zu der Gruppe der Granate und zeichnet sich durch seine helle, frische, mintgrüne Farbe aus. Auch die intensiv grünen und smaragdgrünen Granate gehören zu den Grossularen; sie werden jedoch aufgrund ihrer Seltenheiten und des hohen Preises als Tsavorite bezeichnet.
Grossulare kommen in Tansania, Kenia, Südafrika, Pakistan und Sri Lanka vor.

Highlights

Highlights

Auf unserer Highlights-Seite finden Sie eine exklusive Auswahl neuer und einzigartiger Edelsteine. Lassen Sie sich von dieser Auswahl zu einzigartigen Schmuckstücken inspirieren.

Iolith

Iolith

Der Iolith oder - wie die Gemmologen ihn bezeichnen - Cordierit, kommt auf allen Kontinenten vor. Die wichtigsten Fundorte sind jedoch in Südindien und Sri Lanka. Iolith ist durch seine Zweifarbigkeit leicht zu identifizieren: erscheint der Stein in einer Blickrichtung in seiner typisch blauvioletten Farbe, kann er, um 90° gekippt, eher gelblich oder gräulich erscheinen.

Mali-Granat

Mali-Granat

Der Mali-Granat gehört ebenfalls zu der Gruppe der Granate und ist ein eher unbekannter Farbedelstein. Er kommt, wie sein Name schon verrät, aus der Region um Mali. Er hat eine gelbe bis gelbgrünliche Farbe und durch seine hohe Lichtbrechung eine schöne Brillanz.

Mandarin-Granat

Mandarin-Granat

Mandarin-Granate oder auch Spessartin-Granate schließen sich der Gruppe der Granate an. Der veraltete Name Spessartin stammt von der ersten bekannten Fundstelle der Granatart im Spessart-Gebiet in Deutschland. Heutzutage ist der Namen Mandarin-Granat geläufig, da die leuchtend organge Frabe an eine Mandarine erinnert.

Gefunden werden die orangenen Granate meist in Brasilien, Namibia, Mozambique oder Kenia.

Mondstein

Mondstein

Der silbrig-bläuliche Schimmer des Mondsteins erinnert an das Licht des Monds, daher der Name. Der charakteristische Schimmereffekt des Kalifeldspats wird auch als Adulareszenz bezeichnet. Der Mondstein besteht aus einer Vielzahl von Lamellen, die miteinander verwachsen sind und durch die Lichtreflexion einen besonderen Schimmer erzeugen. Gefunden wird der zu der Gruppe der Feldspate gehörende Stein in Sri Lanka, Brasilien oder auch in Indien.

Morganit

Morganit

Der Morganit gesellt sich zu der Gruppe der Berylle und wird hauptsächlich in Brasilien, Madagaskar, Mozambique und Afghanistan gefunden. Durch sein zartes Rosa wird er auch als Rosaberyll bezeichnet. Seinen Namen verdankt der Edelstein dem amerikanischen Edelsteinliebhaber und Bankier J. P. Morgan.

Paraiba-Turmalin

Paraiba-Turmalin

Der Paraiba-Turmalin gehört, wie der Name schon sagt, zu der Gruppe der Turmaline und ist die mit Abstand seltenste und begehrteste Varietät des Turmalins. Erstmals wurde er 1989 in Brasilien im nordöstlichen Bundesstaat Paraiba gefunden. Heute werden Paraiba-Turmaline in Mozambique und Nigeria gefördert, wobei diese Fundorte nur sehr wenig schleifwürdiges Material hervorbringen. Die Minen in Brasilien sind längst ausgeschöpft und bringen keine Edelsteine mehr hervor.

Beliebt sind Paraiba-Turmaline wegen ihrer außergewöhnlichen, neonblauen Farbe. Dieses charakteristisch intensiv leuchtende Blau wird auch Swimmingpool-Blau genannt.

Peridot

Peridot

Der Name Peridot kommt aus dem Griechischen und bedeutet ungewiss. Die Besonderheit des Peridots ist seine gelbgrüne Farbe. Er ist einer der wenigen Steine, die ausschließlich in grün auftreten. Die bedeutendsten Lagerstätten befinden sich in Nordamerika, Afrika und Pakistan. Es gibt wenige, seltene Exemplare aus Norwegen.

Rauchquarz

Rauchquarz

Der Rauchquarz gehört, wie der Name schon sagt, zur Gruppe der Quarze und zeichnet sich durch seine graue Farbe aus. Dabei kann diese Farbe sehr dunkel bis hin zu einem hellengrauen Ton erscheinen. Häufig wird der Rauchquarz bei niedrigen Temperaturen erhitzt, damit die Farbe heller wird.

Rhodolith

Rhodolith

Der Rhodolith, auch Rosengranat genannt, verdankt seinen Namen der violettroten bis rosaroten Farbe. Rhodos kommt aus dem Griechischen und bedeutet Rose. Der Rhodolith gehört zu der Gruppe der Granate. Dank seiner violettroten Farbe war er schon zur Zeit des Römischen Reichs ein begehrter Edelstein. Die bedeutendsten Lagerstätten befinden sich in Asien und Afrika.

Royal Purple Garnet

Royal Purple Garnet

Der Royal Purple Garnet zeichnet sich durch seinen intensiven Violettton aus, der von intensiv rötlichen zu kühlen bläulichen Purpurtönen reicht. Die hohe Lichtbrechung des Granats lässt die violette Farbe kräftig funkeln, was den Stein besonders attraktiv macht. Der Royal Purple Garnet ist ein Mischkristall zwischen den beiden Granat-Varietäten Pyrop und Almandin. Im Handel ist der Edelstein erst seit wenigen Jahren bekannt. Gefunden werden die Steine in Mozambique und Tansania.

Rubellit

Rubellit

Der Rubellit gehört zur Gruppe der Turmaline. Der Name Rubellit leitet sich aus dem Lateinischen “rötlich” ab. Rubellite kommen in unterschiedlichen Rotstufen vor, jedoch ist die Rubinfarbe am wertvollsten. Die meisten Rubellite weisen starke Einschlüsse auf, nur sehr selten werden Edelsteine ohne Einschlüsse gefunden. Rubellite werden meist in Brasilien, Nigeria und Mozambique gefördert.

Saphir

Saphir

Der Saphir gehört zu den bekanntesten Edelsteinen der Welt und wird der Gruppe der Korunde zugeordnet. Vor allem zeichnet sich der Saphir durch seine enorme Farbvielfalt aus. Die begehrtesten Farben des Saphirs sind zum einen das "Royal Blue", ein tiefes strahlendes blau und das padparadscha orange, ein leuchtendes orange, welches an den Sonnenuntergang einer Sommernacht erinnern soll.

Smaragd

Smaragd

Der Smaragd gilt als einer der ältesten von Menschen verwendeten Schmucksteine. Seine Geschichte reicht in die Zeit des alten Ägyptens zurück. Viele der wertvollsten Schmuckstücke oder einzigartigsten Schätze sind aus Smaragden gefertigt. So befindet sich beispielsweise in der Wiener Schatzkammer ein kleines Gefäß aus einem 2680 Karat schweren Smaragd - es ist der größte geschliffene Smaragd der Welt.

Kolumbien ist aufgrund der klassisch blau-grünen Farbe das bekannteste Herkunftsland für Smaragde. Sie kommen aber auch aus Brasilien, Sambia, Äthiopien, Madagaskar und weiteren Ländern.

Spinell

Spinell

Der Spinell ist aufgrund seiner Mohshärte von 8 einer der härtesten Farbedelsteine und eignet sich daher ausgezeichnet für die Verarbeitung als Schmuckstein. Der Spinell tritt in verschiedenen Farben auf, wobei der rote und der kobaltblaue Spinell die wertvollsten Varietäten darstellen. 

Die bedeutendsten Lagerstätten des Spinels sind Myanmar, Tansania, Vietnam und Tadschikistan. Interessant ist, dass prominente Edelsteine aus den Britischen Kronjuwelen lange fälschlicherweise als Rubine gehalten wurden - in Wirklichkeit sind es Spinelle.

Tansanit

Tansanit

Der Tansanit hat ausschließlich einen Fundort weltweit - Arusha in Tansania. Der blauviolette Stein ist eine Varietät der Zoisit-Gruppe und verdankt seinen Namen dem amerikanischen Juwelier Tiffany, welcher den Stein nach seinem Fundort benannte. Die Vermarktung durch Tiffany bescherte dem Tansanit weltweite Bekanntheit. Er gehört heute zu den beliebtesten Farbedelsteinen.

Topas

Topas

Die wertvollsten Topase haben eine rosa bis rötlichorange Farbe, wobei die farbgebenden Substanzen vor allem Eisen und Chrom sind. Am häufigsten kommt bei Topasen die Farbe Gelb vor. Aufgrund der hohen Spaltbarkeit sind die Steine mit Vorsicht zu verarbeiten. Die wichtigsten Lagerstätten liegen in Brasilien, Sri Lanka, Russland oder auch Nigeria.

Tsavorit

Tsavorit

Der Tsavorit ist eine grüne Varietät der Granat-Gruppe. Der Stein verdankt seinen Namen dem kenianischen Fundort - er wurde 1974 im Tsavo-Nationalpark in Kenia entdeckt. Tsavorite bestechen durch ihre intensiv grüne bis smaragdgrüne Farbe. Die wichtigsten Herkunftsländer sind heute Kenia und Tansania.

Turmalin

Turmalin

Typisch für die Gruppe der Turmaline ist ihre Farbvielfalt. Der Name leitet sich vom singhalesischen Wort Turmali ab, was “Stein mit gemischten Farben” bedeutet. Turmaline kommen in allen Farben vor und decken innerhalb einer Farbgruppe das ganze Farbspektrum ab. Zudem finden sich meist mehrere Farben in nur einem Kristall. Es existieren eine Vielzahl von Namen für die unterschiedlichen Farbvariationen, so zum Beispiel die Bezeichnung Rubellit für die rote Varietät oder Indigolith für blaue Turmaline. Turmaline lassen sich problemlos verarbeiten und sind somit besonders beliebte Edelsteine für die Schmuckherstellung.